• You cannot reply to this topic

I had my first competition yesterday Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   Spaceghost 

• Judo Forum Yonkyu
  • Icon
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 25 November 2012 - 04:24 PM

Hi,

I experienced my first competition yesterday, it was an interesting bur tiring experience. Unfortunately I was not happy with my performance, I won the first match through a disqualification due to leg grab, and then my second match I got held down and lost, and then in my third match I was disqualified myself for a leg grab (it was a follow up attack but the referees thought differently). I won't lie, it is pretty frustrating that I have been doing judo for several years and yet I was beaten by people doing it for a few months. I really want to improve but I need guidance in which areas to target but my coach didn't really give me any feedback. My little finger is quite swollen and stiff today so I think I will have to skip judo for a week until it recovers.

#2 User is offline   judoratt 

• Judo Forum Sandan
  • Icon
  • Group: Special Members

Posted 26 November 2012 - 01:10 AM

Great job Spaceghost it takes alot of courage to get out there, your competition will get better. My advice on your finger suck it up and get to practice and do what you can.

#4 User is offline   Raj Venugopal 

• Judo Forum Yonkyu
  • Icon

Posted 26 November 2012 - 03:43 PM

Tape the finger. Go to practice. Suffer on the mat.
Train harder. Dig deeper. Then you'll win. Even if you lose, you win.

#5 User is offline   Dutch 

• Judo Forum Rokudan
  • Icon

Posted 26 November 2012 - 06:19 PM

Competition is a different thing than randori or kata. It takes practise to get good at. What I see happening a lot is people start to train differently after having experienced shiai. Something quite positive I might add. Train most specifically for your game and come back next competition.
Bushi no nasake - the tenderness of a warrior

#6 User is offline   Spaceghost