Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Should I continue practicing judo? Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   Mindless 

• View blog
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 25 November 2010 - 05:57 AM

I've been doing judo for a couple months now, and even got promoted to yellow belt last week. I really like judo, but the problem is: I have joint hypermobility and dysautonomia (which is similar to being prone to sudden blood pressure drops). Even if I'm pretty limited after practice because of being exhausted and in pain (which I presume happens to every judoka, but is increased with this kind of disease) what bothers me the most is that during and after intense (and sometimes even not so intense) uchi-komi or randori I get really dizzy, to the point where I would faint if I didn't get rest immediately.

I've learned to kind of deal with it, and also the dizziness has been disappearing (which makes sense because staying in shape is one of the main "treatments"). I thought everything was perfect, but yesterday, after my first shiai match (it was a small, beginners only one), I almost passed out.

The question is: Does any of you suffer from any muscular o heart disease? I'm just wondering if someone else had health problems which made judo training and competition really hard, but finally got over them. Even if competition ends being too much for me, I'd be satisfied with just being able to train without too much pain.

Sorry if something like this has been asked before.

#2 User is offline   stacey 

• damnum absque injuria
  • Icon
  • View blog
  • Group: Special Members

Posted 25 November 2010 - 06:09 AM