• +
  • « First
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Judo Books: Must Read Rate Topic: -----

#46 User is offline   diemjay 

• Group: Full Members

Posted 15 May 2008 - 12:24 AM

I have noticed that my current judo book is not detailed enough for me and does not cover as many throws/holds as I would like. I am going to buy a new book. I would like something that is detailed, has pitcures and/or diagrams, describes the objectives of movements, is as comprehensive as possible and is easy to understand. I am still pretty new to judo and have recently become quite interested in it.

Which book should I buy and why?

Cheers

#47 User is offline   stacey 

• damnum absque injuria
  • Icon
  • View blog
  • Group: Special Members

Posted 15 May 2008 - 12:34 AM

what is your current book?
Disclaimer

Please note, the above provided information does not constitute legal advice but is written for entertainment purposes only. The author is not responsible should you pursue any of the above, and by reading the above, you agree to hold the author, the forum, and any and all other entity including but not limited to God harmless for any damage, monetary or otherwise, caused by your pursuit. Yadda Yadda....

#48 User is offline   bythesea 

• Judo Forum Rokudan
  • Icon

Posted 15 May 2008 - 01:04 AM

I have quite a few books on judo.

For someone just starting out, I would say my hands down recommendation would be Best Judo. Small book, filled with many of the techniques you will learn and need to get decent at in the first few years of judo. Nice mix of both newaza, tachiwaza, and combos. Cheap, plentiful, easy to keep around.

Others:

Canon of judo. Kind of esoteric in some spots. Not sure what to make of it. Some nice notes on individual throws. Used to be a fan of it, now more ambiguous.